Union roster intact after expansion draft

No one likes (our unprotected players), and we don’t care.

The MLS expansion draft happened earlier today, allowing new sides Atlanta United FC and Minnesota United FC to augment their rosters with five unprotected players each from current MLS teams. MLS clubs could protect eleven players between their senior, supplemental, and reserve rosters, and could only have one player taken from them in the draft. The Union chose to protect Roland Alberg, Eric Ayuk, Alejandro Bedoya, Andre Blake, Warren Creavalle, Fabinho, Ilsinho, Richie Marquez, Chris Pontius, Keegan Rosenberry, and CJ Sapong. Also protected due to their generation Adidas status were Josh Yaro and Fabian Herbers, as well as homegrown signings Derrick Jones and Auston Trusty.

Any player whose option was not picked up could haveĀ been selected, as well as those whose option was picked up but who was left exposed. The list of the latter was: Maurice Edu, Brian Carroll, Charlie Davies, Leo Fernandes, Ray Gaddis, John McCarthy, and Ken Tribbett. In the end, no one was selected from the U, leaving the Union roster intact for Earnie Stewart to work with further.

The complete expansion draft results are here.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.